Deaneries and their vicar foranes (VF)

Deaneries and Vicars Forane (VF) of the Catholic Diocese of Savannah

Originally Appeared in : 9910-5/9/19

Albany Deanery
Alapaha, St. Ann Church
Albany, St. Teresa Church
Americus, St. Mary Church
Bainbridge, St. Joseph Church
Blakely, Holy Family Church
Cairo, St. Elizabeth Seton Church
Camilla, St. John Vianney Church
Cordele, St. Theresa Church
Cuthbert, St. Luke Church
Donalsonville, Church of the Incarnation  
Fort Valley, St. Juliana Church
Montezuma, St. Michael Church
Moultrie, Immaculate Conception Church
Thomasville, St. Augustine Church
Tifton, Our Divine Saviour Church


What is a deanery in the Catholic Church?

By Philip Kosloski

The term deanery is a relatively new term that is often used in certain dioceses around the world.

On occasion Catholics might hear or see the term “deanery” or “dean” talked about in the parish bulletin or during Sunday announcements.

What does it mean?

In the most recent Code of Canon Law, bishops were given the authority to assemble parishes into smaller geographical groups. These groups of parishes within a diocese were then put under the care of a “dean” and called “deaneries.”

The word “dean” is derived from the Latin decanus, originally referring to a leader in charge of ten people.

The purpose of this arrangement is to assist the bishop in his administration of the diocese. Often a diocese is a large geographical region and in order to govern the diocese effectively, the bishop needs deans to help oversee the parishes and ensure they are functioning properly.

In some cases when the bishop is not able to physically be present for an important ecclesial event, the dean will be appointed as his representative. For example, often a dean will install a priest as the new “pastor” of a parish.

While deans do not have much official authority to enact legislation in parishes, they are the local representatives of the bishop. If there is an issue with a parish or priest, lay people are instructed to consult the local dean first. Then, if the issue is not resolved, the dean is supposed to present the problem to the bishop.

In areas where there are many Catholics stretched over a large area, deaneries are an effective tool that help the bishop maintain unity among his flock.

Source -

Augusta Deanery
Augusta, Most Holy Trinity Church
St. Joseph Church
St. Mary on the Hill Church
Grovetown, St. Teresa of Avila Church
Louisville, St. Joan of Arc Church
Waynesboro, Sacred Heart Church
Columbus Deanery
Buena Vista, St. Mary Magdalen Church
Columbus, Holy Family Church
Our Lady of Lourdes Church
St. Anne Church
St. Benedict the Moor Church
Pine Mountain, Christ the King Church


Macon Deanery
Dublin, Immaculate Conception Church
Eastman, St. Mark Church  
Kathleen, St. Patrick Church
Macon, Holy Spirit Church
St. Joseph Church
St. Peter Claver Church
McRae, Holy Redeemer Church
Sandersville, St. William Church
Warner Robins, Sacred Heart Church


Savannah Deanery
Pooler, Corpus Christi Church
Port Wentworth, Our Lady of Lourdes Church
Richmond Hill, St. Anne Church
Savannah, Cathedral of St. John the Baptist
Blessed Sacrament Church
Resurrection of Our Lord Church
St. Frances Cabrini Church
St. Benedict the Moor Church
Sacred Heart Church
St. James Church
St. Peter the Apostle Church
Sts. Peter and Paul Vietnamese Church
Springfield, St. Boniface Church
Tybee Island, St. Michael Church


Statesboro Deanery
Claxton, St. Christopher Church
Glennville, St. Jude Church
Metter, Holy Family Church
Millen, St. Bernadette Church
Pembroke, Holy Cross Church
Reidsville, St. Andrew the Apostle Church
Sandhill, Our Lady of Guadalupe
Statesboro, St. Matthew Church
Swainsboro, Holy Trinity Church
Sylvania, Our Lady of the Assumption Church
Vidalia, Sacred Heart Church


Valdosta/Brunswick Deanery
Alma, St. Raymond Church
Baxley, St. Rose of Lima
Brunswick, St. Francis Xavier Church
Darien, Nativity of Our Lady Church
Douglas, St. Paul Church
Fitzgerald, St. William Church
Folkston, St. Francis of Assisi Church
Hazlehurst, Good Shepherd Church
Hinesville, St. Stephen First Martyr Church
Jesup, St. Joseph Church
Lake Park, San Jose Mission
Ray City, St. Anthony of Padua Church
St. Marys, Our Lady Star of the Sea Church
St. Simons Island, St. William Church
Valdosta, St. John the Evangelist Church
Waycross, St. Joseph Church
Willacoochee, Holy Family Church



Go to top